Proceedings of Leyton Public Schools Board of Education Cheyenne County School District #17-0003 High School Library Regular Board Meeting - December 11, 2024 4:00 PM

Call to Order:

The regular board meeting of Leyton Public School District Board of Education was called to order on December 11, 2024, at 4:00 PM, in the Library of Leyton High School, Dalton, NE 69131. The Open Meetings Act was posted on the wall of the Library. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the school website (www.leytonwarriors.org) on or before Thursday, December 5, 2024.

Attendance Taken at 4:00 PM.

Benish: Present
Borges: Present
Ernest: Absent
Rushman: Present
Schumacher: Absent
Wiedeman: Present

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and there was no communication from the public.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the agenda. Roll Call vote: Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Absent, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Absent, Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: Absent: 2.

Rauner and Associates gave a presentation to the board on the 2023-2024 Annual Audit of Leyton Public Schools.

The Board reviewed the student council report.

Shad Benish and Ryan Borges presented on their NASB State Conference sessions.

Mr. Jones and Mr. McLaughlin gave their administration reports to the Board.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Benish to excuse board members Ernest and Schumacher. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Absent, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Absent, Wiedeman: Yea Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 2.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Rushman to recognize: The One Acts' team for their 4th place finish at MAC, Lila McLaughlin MAC Conference Outstanding Performance award. Mrs. Wieser for her work in organizing the District One Act Competition, Tristian Fisher, Kaydence Haupt, and Lila McLaughlin for their Outstanding Performance Award at Districts. Volleyball All Conference 1st team: Shawnee Gamble, Zaili Benish, Ella Haley and Kaydence Haupt. All

Conference 2nd Team: Sydney Fortune. District Football All District team: Alec Watchorn (QB), Kaleb Miller (Center), Colt Van Anne (D-Line), Jeremiah Hajek (LB/DB). District 2nd Team: Austin Beutler (End). High School All-State Selection Honorable Mention: Alec Watchorn, Kaleb Miller, Colt Van Anne and Jeremiah Hajek. Omaha World Herald All-State Volleyball Zail Benish 1st team, Kaydence Haupt 2nd team, Honorable Mentions: Riley Jones, Macey Roelle, Shawnee Gamble, Sydney Fortune and Ella Haley. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Absent, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Absent, Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 2.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the minutes of the November 13, 2024, meeting. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Absent, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Absent, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 2.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Rushman to approve the claims, warrants and transfers. Roll Call vote: Borges: Yea, Ernest: Absent, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Absent, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 2.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the evaluation of the Superintendent as presented. Roll Call vote: Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Absent, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Absent. Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 2.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Rushman to accept the 2023-2024 annual audit as presented. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Absent, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Absent. Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 2.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Benish to accept the Alicap report as presented. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Absent, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Absent, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 2.

The Board reviewed the Financial Literacy Report with Mr. McLaughlin based on those taking financial literacy.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

Next regular meeting of the Leyton Board of Education will be held on January 13, 2025, at 4:00 PM in the High School Library.

ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Benish, seconded by Wiedeman to adjourn the meeting at 5:08 PM. Roll Call vote: Borges: Yea, Ernest: Absent, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Absent, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 2.

Approved by,

Respectfully Submitted,

Ryan Borges, President Leyton Board of Education Matt McLaughlin, Recording Secretary